refreshing way to lose weight · running

Running in the Great Outdoors

During the last few weeks, we’ve experienced many days of 101 degrees in the Greater Washington DC area. Even after the torrential downpour we had on June 30, the average temperature still remained around 99-102 degrees after the storm. The storm not only cut off my electricity for 5 days but the heat and humidity also made working out very difficult for me. Normally, I would go to Bikram yoga or a run around the neighborhood. However, the heat outside made it difficult to breathe and stay focused in the 105 degrees room. I felt faint from the heat just walking to my car, so running outside is definitely out of the question.

Besides the option working out in an air-conditioned gym (which I find boring), I found running outdoors before 7am or after 7:30pm to be bearable in this heat. I found a beaten path in the woods off of Canal Road and found the 4 mile run to be quite pleasant. The shade from the tall trees and the occasional rain made the run really enjoyable and actually motivated me to keep going. Part of the adventure was to find this path and to see a different scenery. I encourage my fellow runners out there to find a different way to work out, whether its finding a new running path or joining a new class. Whatever keeps your body and mind excited will end up to be a great workout. It was also a nice change to my usual work out routine and added a bit of spontaneous that my mind wasn’t expecting.

Life is all about discovery. It’s easy to fall into a routine, so why not get go outside the box and try something new? You’re body will thank you for it.

To end on a delicious note, I would like to share with you the recipes to my post run mango and banana smoothie. It’s one of my favorite flavors.

Ingredients:

1 banana

1/2 cup frozen organic mango pieces from Nature’s Promise

1/3 cup Fage yogurt

1/2 cup Minute Maid OJ

Directions:

Combine the banana, mango, yogurt, and juice in the blende. Blend until nearly smooth. Voila! It’s ready.

One thought on “Running in the Great Outdoors

Leave a Reply

